Eclectic Quesadilla

Contrary to how it may seem given my posts thus far, I don’t always have unlimited time to cook. Sometimes, I have less than half an hour at home to eat and get ready for the next job. In those cases, I usually heat up left-overs in the microwave as I wash my face and change clothes, sitting down only for as long at it takes to quickly eat whatever I cooked a day or two earlier.  Sometimes, I grab a container to take with me! Then there are other times when I have a bit more time but, because I’m feeling lazy or because I’m hungry and want to eat sooner rather than later, I make something quick and simple.  These quick meals consist of what I have on hand, require minimal prep. work, and cook quickly (if at all). Today I made a quesadilla, and steamed bak choi.

These quesadillas don’t have any hard and fast ingredient rules. I like to grab a couple of different vegetables, a couple of different kinds of cheeses, some flavor enhancers such as herbs or spices, and store-bought tortillas. Feel free to adopt and adapt with whatever you have in your fridge or pantry!

Eclectic Quesadilla (or a “This-is-What-I-Had-in-the-Fridge” Quesadilla)

makes one generous quesadilla

  • 2 flour tortillas, 8″-10″ in diameter (choose ones that fit your cast-iron skillet)
  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1/3 cup chopped bell peppers (I used a combination of red and green)
  • 3-4 button mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 tbsp chopped green onions
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced or grated cheese (I used Dubliner and mizithra)
  • 6 basil leaves

Heat the oil in a cast-iron skillet over med-high heat, and add the bell peppers. When the peppers begin to soften, add the sliced mushrooms and saute until they just begin to release their liquid.  Add the scallions and cook another minute or so. Remove the mixture from the skillet and reserve. Reduce the heat to med-low.

Place one tortilla in the bottom of your skillet (it should still have a little oil in the bottom so you shouldn’t need to add more). Layer on mushroom and pepper mixture, cheeses, and basil leaves. Cover with the second tortilla and cook until the cheese starts to melt and the bottom tortilla is crisp. Carefully flip the quesadilla over and cook on the second side until crispy and the cheese is melted and bubbly.

Cut into wedges and eat immediately.

This entry was posted in Breads & Pizza, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

