Salad with Pomegranate Seeds & Raspberry Vinaigrette

Pomegranates are sexy. They are red, juicy and luscious, and kind of messy. Pomegranates are mythical. When Hades abducted Persephone to the underworld, the only food or drink that she consumed was pomegranate seeds (the number varies depending on the telling). For this action she is obliged to return to the underworld for a period of each year, thus placing her mother, Demeter the goddess of the harvest, in mourning and giving us seasons.

Pomegranates grow in Hawaii, and I picked two of them during my walk this morning. One fell on the ground and cracked when I picked them, so I seeded that one when I got home. The other I have whole, awaiting inspiration.

But, in the meantime, I decided that I’d utilize some of the jewel-like seeds. So I made a salad for lunch. It was beautiful, fresh and light, and tasted like summer. I ate enough pomegranate seeds in the salad that I would have had to stay in Hades all year round, but there are advantages to not being a goddess with whom gods of the underworld fall in love. I’ll take my mortality and eat all the pomegranate seeds I want!

Salad with Pomegranate Seeds and Raspberry Vinaigrette

For the Salad
serves one

  • 1 large handful of lettuces, washed and torn if needed
  • 1 small handful of arugula, likewise prepped
  • cucumber slices
  • pecorino romano cheese, shaved into strips
  • 2 tbsp. walnuts, toasted
  • 1-2 tbsp. pomegranate seeds
For the Dressing
serves two

  • 1 tbsp. raspberry vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp. (or so) orange juice
  • freshly ground black pepper
Over the lettuce and arugula, arrange the cucumber, walnuts, and pomegranate seeds. Shave the cheese directly onto the composed salad. 

To make the dressing, combine all ingredients and whisk together in a small bowl. (Or, make a larger batch in a small jar and shake vigorously to combine.)

Dress the salad, and enjoy with your favorite homemade bread.

This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

