Pumpkin, Sweet Potato Soup

On the Mainland it is turning decidedly towards winter, and even here in the tropics the days are cooler and wetter. Thoughts are turning to winter flavors, to pies, cookies, and soups.

Last weekend I attended a pumpkin carving party. I was heartened to see that most everybody was saving their seeds to roast at home later (myself included). However, everybody was just discarding the cut out pieces of pale orange pumpkin flesh. I saved these odd-shaped castoffs and brought them home. I roasted them very simply with olive oil, garlic cloves and salt as a side to accompany a roast pork loin, and after dinner I had about 2 cups left over. These tasty garlic flavored soft pumpkin pieces sat in my fridge for a few days until I felt the urge to make soup.

I had some purple sweet potatoes that were languishing on the counter, and lots of frozen homemade chicken stock. Some onion, a touch of dairy, a generous pinch of salt and an immersion blender and I was on my way to a delicious soup. Top this with goat cheese and freshly ground black pepper and you have something far out of the ordinary.

Because my sweet potatoes were of the purple variety, my soup came out a decidedly purple/pink/brown color. If you want a more attractive looking soup, I would use the orange sweet potatoes. The soup should still taste delicious, but it’ll look better!

Pumpkin, Sweet Potato Soup

serves ~8

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 regular onion, diced
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 5-6 roasted garlic cloves
  • 2 cups cooked pumpkin
  • 2 cups sweet potatoes, cut and cooked
  • 4 cups stock or broth (chicken or vegetable)
  • 1/4 cup half and half
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • goat cheese for serving

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions and cook, stirring often, until they turn translucent. Add the garlic, pumpkin and potato. Cook for another 5 minutes or until the kitchen smells fragrant. Add the stock and turn the heat up to high. Bring to a boil, turn down the heat, and let simmer for 20-30 mins. Taste and adjust seasoning. You’ll probably need more salt . . .

Puree the soup using an immersion blender until smooth. Add half and half (you could use cream, but I have half and half on hand because that’s what I drink with my coffee) and stir to combine. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed.

Serve in bowls topped with a sprinkle of soft goat cheese and a few more grinds of  pepper.

This entry was posted in Soups, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin, Sweet Potato Soup

  1. Allen Cole says:

    What – no pictures – YET…as usual, your prose does equal justice to the dish! Thanks, again for keeping this up!

    Allen

    • Like I mentioned, it’s not the most attractive soup . . . I’ll try putting it in a white bowl the next time I have some. I’m thinking about changing my dinnerware to white just so that food photographs more attractively.

      And thanks for the compliments!

Leave a Reply

